Johnston Explorer Unit

JohnstonESU_DofE_2015The Johnston Explorer Scout Unit (ESU) as it is today was formed in 2003, when Venture Scouts were disbanded and replaced with Explorer Scouts. Our newly formed ESU later became known as the ‘Johnston Explorers’ in memory of past GSL Ernie Johnston.

More recently, a number of our Explorers have begun working towards gaining their Bronze Duke of Edinburgh’s Award through the group, something which will be beneficial to them in the future. In addition to this, many of our Explorer Scouts have roles within the wider group as Young Leaders, assisting with the running of the younger sections.

Each year, we attend a number of camps including Group Summer Camp, Gilwell Winter Camp, Back Woods Easter Camp, Gilwell 24 and the Bisley National Target Shooting Weekend.

In addition to camping, the Johnston ESU participate in exciting and modern activities, as well as some more traditional favourites. Some of the activities that we have taken part in recently include: DofE, Young Leaders, White Water Rafting, Climbing, Abseiling, Rifle and Pistol Shooting, Archery, Edinburgh Chase, Microlight Flying, Power Kiting, Segway Riding and Fencing to name just a few.

To find out more about what the Johnston ESU get up to, why not check out the Explorer Blog or pay us a visit and give us a try. All current members are invited to join our Facebook group, where we can keep updated about events at group, district and county level:

Jason O’Brien (ESL)

Upcoming Events:


How Can I Join the Johnston Explorer Scouts?

If you’d like to take part in Explorer Scouting at 5th Dartford as a Network Scout please visit our Join Us page.

Where do I put my Awards and Badges?



What is the Scout Law?

A Scout is to be trusted.

A Scout is loyal.

A Scout is friendly and considerate.

A Scout belongs to the worldwide family of Scouts.

A Scout has courage in all difficulties.

A Scout makes good use of time and is careful of possessions and property.

A Scout has self-respect and respect for others.


What is the Scout Promise?

On My Honour, I promise that I will do my best

To do my duty to God and to the Queen,

To help other people

And to keep the Scout Law.

 Previous Page

Leave a Reply